The class of 1997 Top of the Class Scholarship is dedicated

To the Memories of
Christa Deutmeyer and Dean Funke


The class of 1997 Top of the Class Scholarship provides a partial, $1,000 scholarship for two students for their senior year at Beckman Catholic High School in Dyersville, Iowa.

This scholarship requires eligibility, application, and an in-person interview with members of the Deutmeyer and Funke families and the scholarship committee. It will be awarded to two students whose spirit closely resembles that of Christa Deutmeyer and Dean Funke in the areas of Character, Service, Leadership, and Academics.

Christa Deutmeyer

Class of 1997 Scholar
Artist, Musician, Teacher

Christa Deutmeyer is the daughter of Donald and Doris Deutmeyer of Dyersville. She was the Salutatorian for the Beckman High School class of 1997. After graduating from high school, Christa continued her Catholic education by attending St. Ambrose University in Davenport.

Outside of the classroom, Christa was a talented young artist and gifted musician. She played the piano, French horn, saxophone trumpet, and baritone at various school events and organizations. She was also a member of the Beckman Speech Team and Art Club where her talents shined. Christa extended her energies to her faith community as a volunteer for St. Francis Xavier's Sunday School program and served in various roles in liturgy planning. Christa was also a proud and active member of Students for Life and leader for Teens Encounter Christ.

Christa received numerous academic, leadership, and extracurricular awards including the John Philip Sousa Music Department Award, National Honor Society, All-State Speech Award, Math Department Award, State of Iowa Scholar, President's Award for Educational Excellence, Dubuque Area Youth Leadership Council, Catholic Order of Foresters Scholarship, and the St. Ambrose University Academic Scholarship.

Christa's most outstanding personal quality was her joy of sharing her time and many talents with family, friends, and especially those younger than herself. One of her greatest treasures in life was her ability to see the good in others and the desire to bring out the best in everyone she knew. Christa lived her passion of sharing her gifts by pursuing a degree in Early Childhood Development.


Class of 1997 Scholar
Football Player, Volunteer, Leader

Dean Funke is the son of Dave and Janaan Funke of Dyersville. He graduated in the top ten percent of the Beckman High School class of 1997. After graduating from high school, Dean continued his Catholic education by attending St. Ambrose University in Davenport, and then later transferred to Iowa State University in Ames.

Outside of the classroom, Dean excelled in football, where he was a stand-out both at Beckman and St. Ambrose University. But Dean's contributions to his community extended far beyond the football field. During his time at Beckman, he was also involved in National Honor Society, the Liturgy Committee, the Dubuque Area Youth Leadership Council, and Boy's State. During his senior year, Dean served as the treasurer for the Student Council, was elected as the Homecoming King, and was a member of the Prom Court. He also played the role of a soldier in Beckman's production of "Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat." During the senior awards ceremony, Dean was awarded the American Citizenship Award from the Iowa State Bar Association, a very appropriate recognition and one that was well-deserved.

Dean was a talented leader who led by example. He had a big heart, a strong spirit of volunteerism, and was extremely compassionate. He was a natural leader who respected his peers and possessed a rare gift for touching peoples' lives.

Dean double majored in Agricultural Business and Accounting at Iowa State and was a rising star at accounting firm Ernst and Young. He dreamed of becoming a small town attorney where he could use his many talents to give back to the community.

Previous Recipients

  • 2022 - Grace Helle & Jordan Thier
  • 2021 - Connor Grover & Sydney Reiter
  • 2020 - Nick Offerman & Savanah Oberbroeckling
  • 2019 - Abby Klosterman & Sean Kluesner
  • 2018 - Michael Roling & Shelby Westhoff
  • 2017 - Caitlin Kennedy & Seth Deutmeyer
  • 2016 - Justin Wolfe & Tess Brehm
  • 2015 - Tyler Hirsch & Elise Westhoff
  • 2014 - Carter Boekholder & Shannon Schuster
  • 2013 - Laura Schneider & Monica Steffen